Showing posts with label removing students. Show all posts
Showing posts with label removing students. Show all posts

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Students Dropped From Courses

We have hit that point again in the semester where students have been dropped for non-payment. Although I am testing out a new tool that integrates Student Information and Blackboard, this has only been used with a few courses this fall (those instructors have been notified). This means that when students are dropped for non-payment, this does not translate into removal or disabling of access to their course areas in Blackboard.

The process is the same as it has been in previous semesters. Instructors must compare their class roster from SIS with their listing of students within their Blackboard course areas. DO NOT REMOVE STUDENTS FROM YOUR COURSE IN BLACKBOARD!! Many students who are dropped for non-payment will bring their account up-to-date and will reenroll in their courses. If you remove the student, all submitted work, discussion board postings, and grades in the Grade Center are gone. We can not get them back!! As I said, this is no different from previous semesters, so I am sorry that this is repetitive for many of you. This process will be changing for the spring semester and should be much easier on your end. I will send more information out about that at a later date.

For now, the correct process is to make the course area unavailable to these students. If they are reenrolled later, you can then make the course available to them again without losing any of their previous work. The link below has information about this process and steps to change the availability status of individual students.

http://svtechtime.blogspot.com/2009/06/removing-students-from-your-course-in.html

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Removing Students From Your Course In Blackboard

It is best to not remove students from your course area in Blackboard. When you remove a student, all information on that student's access and all submitted work, including discussion board postings, is removed as well.

Continue to check your class roster and compare this to your student enrollment in Blackboard. If students are dropped due to nonpayment, withdraw on their own, or if you administratively drop...you need to make the course unavailable to the individual students. They will no longer have access to the course, but if their enrollment status changes or if the student(s) file a complaint...all of the student's (students') statistical information and work is still there.

To Change Individual Student Course Access (Availability)
  1. Go to your course in Blackboard
  2. Go into the "Control Panel"
  3. Click on "List/Modify Users"
  4. Click on the "List All" tab
  5. Click on "List All" button
  6. Click on the "Properties" button to the right of the student's name
  7. Scroll down to part 4 of the "Modify User Properties" window
  8. Under "Available"...change this to "no" to make the course unavailable to that student; change this to "yes" if you wish to give access back to that student
  9. Click "Submit" (Bottom Right)